BGR Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe

Seismological station networks in Germany

BGR’s seismological central observatory operates three seismological station networks or arrays in Germany:

  • The German Regional Seismic Network (GRSN, see map below), currently consists of 20 broad band stations located throughout Germany. This national network is operated in collaboration with German universities, the Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam, and the state earthquake surveys.
  • The Gräfenberg array (GRF, see map below) consists of 13 broad band stations in the Fränkische Alb. It extends approximately 100 kilometres north-south and approximately 40 kilometres east-west.
  • The GERES array in the Bavarian Forest consists of 25 short-period stations, and a three-component broad band station positioned in four concentric circles with a maximum diameter of approximately four kilometres.

At a state level, various state earthquake surveys or universities operate additional local station networks for various purposes. These stations primarily consist of short-period seismometers with different data registration systems. The data is locally archived and evaluated by each centre. Continuous broad band data is also archived by BGR’s Seismic Central Observatory (SZO) located in Hannover.

Information on the short-period stations and the broad band stations operated in Germany (also cf. below for the latter) are located here: information on the stations.

Seismological broad band stations in Germany

The following map shows the location of seismological broad band stations in Germany used as sources of data by SZO. The orange circles represent the stations of the GRF array, the yellow triangles the GRSN.


Dr. Klaus Stammler
Phone: +49 (0)511-643-2045
Fax: +49 (0)511-643-3663

This Page: